Goldie- Masterpiece Minimix

by • August 19, 2014 • Blog, D&B, Features, Music, Other


Entitled the Masterpiece Series, the series of compilations Ministry of Sound has been releasing of late is an interesting concept. With each release being given to an influential artist or tastemaker across the spectrum of modern music, some of the greatest selectors to grace nightclubs worldwide are tasked with curating a three disk journey through their inspirations, from their earliest influences through to their current career. With mixes from heavyweight names the likes of Jazzy B, David Rodigan and Giles Peterson already gracing the platform, Metalheadz head honcho and all round d&b don Goldie is the latest to take to the tracklist, his Masterpiece compilation having just been released on the 18th July. With his The Alchemist: The Best Of Goldie 1992-2012 compilation dropping to a lot of attentive ears back last year, the prospect of one of d&b’s longest standing figures who’s seen all of it’s greatest days, from it’s warehouse rave inception through the much loved Bluenote era to the present day, giving us an insight into the tracks he holds most dear was always going to be appealing.

Breaking the three CDs down into stages of his career, the first disk, entitled Alpha is a nostalgic look back through the miscellaneous collection of soul, funk and reggae that inspired his earliest forays into music, Soul II Soul sitting alongide Junior Murvin and Roy Ayers for a selection of sun soaked party anthems that reveal Goldie’s eclectic taste. Moving on to the second disk Journeyman, early electronic experimentations begin to creep in; Zero B’s shuffling footwork and Nookie’s heavy sub bass giving way to the likes of Roni Size and Krust as Goldie leads into his own early career, ending with two of his own classics Sea of Tears and Kemistry. Lastly, the third disk Headzville focuses on his own Metalheadz label that’s been one of the roost rulers over the past few decades in the d&b scene. One too keep the modern heads happy, timeless classics such as D-Bridge’s Inner Disbelief and Commix’s Be True sit alongside Jubei’s futuristic minimalism and Ivy Labs blissful liquid in a fine demonstration of just how much sheer class there is on the label, not to mention how varied it is.

At times educational, at others nostalgic and occasionally just showcasing some of d&b’s finest modern moments, Goldie’s Masterpiece is a great look at the career of one of the genres most loved figures, delightfully varied and yet showcasing the cohesive journey through the inception of electronic music, a wave that Goldie’s own journey has ridden and pushed perfectly. With a splattering of his own tracks, both solo and with Rufige Kru, three of who’s tracks end proceedings in a throwback and off the beaten track sign off, it’s natural rhythm follows Goldie’s path while straying far and wide through the tastes, trends and cycles of the past four or so decades. Accompanied by a three vinyl LP release with his shortlisted selection, there’s something to keep everyone happy here and it’s always great to see clubs and organizations at the commercial forefront of music representing the originators that helped pave the way. Listen to the minimix preview above, check out the full track list below and grab the release in CD form here or vinyl here.

CD1 The Alpha  Track
1 Goldie  My Little India
2 Terry Callier Lazarus Man
3 Soul II Soul Feat. Caron Wheeler Back To Life (However Do You Want Me)
4 Maze & Frankie Beverly Twilight
5 Cherrelle With Alexander O’Neal Saturday Love
6 Teena Marie Behind The Groove
7 Serious Intention You Don’t Know
8 Smokey Robinson & The Miracles The Tears Of A Clown
9 Junior Murvin Police & Thieves
10 Ken Boothe Everything I Own
11 Roy Ayers Ubiquity Everybody Loves The Sunshine
12 [re:jazz] Inner City Life
13 Radiohead Just

CD2 Journeyman Track
1 Top Buzz Living In Darkness
2 Zero B Lock Up
3 Dragon Fly Visions Of Rage
4 Nookie Pedro Pulls An Essex Sort
5 A Guy Called Gerald Like A Drug
6 Egyptian Empire A.K.A Tim Taylor The Horn Track
7 Wax Doctor A New Direction
8 Internal Affairs Hands To Heaven
9 Roni Size It’s A Jazz Thing
10 Nookie Only You
11 Wax Doctor Heat
12 Krust Soul In Motion
13 Internal Affairs In My Soul
14 Goldie Sea Of Tears
15 Goldie Kemistry

CD3 Headzville Track
1 dBridge  Inner Disbelief
2 Commix Be True
3 Marcus Intalex & ST Files Universe
4 Rufige Kru Special Request
5 Rufige Kru Feat. D-Bridge Mirror
6 DLR & Mako Your Mind
7 Scar Old Ground (Vinyl Exclusive mix)
8 Jubei Patience VIP
9 Lenzman Collapse
10 Break Headz Up
11 Ulterior Motive Given Contact
12 Marcus Intalex Hell to Pay
13 Blocks & Escher Razor
14 Klute   Curley Wurley
15 Loxy & Ink Headz Roll
16 Kiat Feeder
17 Commix Belleview
18 Doc Scott Blue Skies
19 Ivy Lab & Hydro Feat. Frank Carter III & Lucy Annika Make It Clear
20 Rufige Kru My Thoughts
21 Rufige Kru Sometime Sad Day
22 Rufige Kru Feat. Cleveland Watkiss Beachdrifta VIP

Pin It

Related Posts

Comments are closed.